Funky Colour

The Amazing Cycle of Life


“Everything the power of the world does is done in a circle. The sky is round and I have heard that the earth is round like a ball and so are all the stars. The life of a man is a circle from childhood to childhood, and so it is in everything where power moves.”

– Black Elk, Holy Man of the Oglala Sioux 1863-1950

Native Americans were not the only ones who clearly saw that life moved in circles and cycles, the nature of the world and time is circular in Hinduism and Buddhism as well, and life is seen as a stage in the cycle of birth, death and rebirth. The ancient teachings of astrology are based on cyclical movements of heavenly bodies and numerology is based on 9-year life cycles.

Also Read: Live A Positive Life With 36 Best Positive Thinking Quotes

Likewise, in modern psychology, scientists have written about different stages of life from birth to death and have noticed similarities between the early and the late stages of human life regarding cognitive and emotional features.

Conception to birth

There is a whole field of prenatal psychology exploring the psychology of conception, pregnancy, labor, delivery and the postpartum period, as well as the unborn and newborn child’s intellectual and emotional development. It is certainly a combination of genetic and social factors that will shape any baby’s life. There is evidence that pregnant women who do yoga give birth to kids who are calmer and more relaxed.

Infancy (ages 0 – 3)

When a baby is born, it brings new hope, life and vitality into the family and everyone is instilled with new energy of care, love and looking forward to the future. Infants are vibrant with energy, pure life force and innocence and they somehow push the wheel of life forward getting people involved in nurturing them, in nurturing new life. Infants develop a sense of trust or mistrust towards their caregivers depending on whether their primary needs are getting satisfied or not.

Childhood (ages 3 – 11)

This is probably the most fun part of life, mark by playfulness, imagination, creativity, wonder and awe. When everything is still new and to be explores. This is also the time when the inner self develops and the so called inner world forms. The one that is so important to artists, scientists and all creative people. Social and technical skills are also acquire at this age.

Adolescence (ages 12- 20)

The most sensitive part of life, when our bodies undergo chemical changes. And, there are transformations in our entire being, physical, emotional, mental and spiritual. At this age a sense of ego identity is form and social roles are choose and explore.

Also Read: 6 Best Ways To Boost Your Confidence

Adulthood (ages 20 – 65)

In early adulthood we experience bonding and intimacy in relationships, or isolation. We form a family, our circle of friends, complete our education and get a good job. We create our own home and career. In later adulthood, we reap the rewards and have more material abundance; we are hopefully settle and can relax and enjoy pursuits of a more spiritual nature.

Maturity (65 +) and dying

What goes around, comes around. This is the time when we can enjoy the benefits of our well spent life or pay for taking poor care of our lives. If we haven’t taken good care of our bodies, bad habits will take their toll now. Hopefully we have gained some wisdom we can share with the younger ones. Our minds are turn toward the past and we become like little children again. Taking pleasure in simple things and not taking anything for granted. We prepare for our departure.

Each stage of life is valuable and has its gifts. We need to support and protect each stage of life, our own and those of our close ones. It is good to educate ourselves about how we can do. So, we can for example get a cert IV in allied health assistance and be of service to everyone around us, thus honoring all life.

“When you were born, you cried and the world rejoiced. Live your life so that when you die, the world cries and you rejoice.”

– White Elk